1099 Vs W2 Agent Pay

LifeHealth

Expert
I'm a new agent and I currently get a 60-40 split with the agency and I'm a W2 employee. They gave me a couple hundred individual ACA customers(their whole health book) when I started as a defacto salary. I've owned several businesses in the past and am interested in 1st if I'm getting a good deal and 2nd how easy is it to 1099 agents like me? I think I'd be better off being able to write off car, phone, meals, home office and such. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

I don't know enough about employee/contractor stuff to say definitively you could be a contractor; however if you are basically functioning as an employee now and the only thing that would change is the way you are paid, both you and your employer could have some conflict with the IRS over an inappropriate contractor status.

Here's an IRS link you can see if provides any additional help for you.
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/smal...ependent-contractor-self-employed-or-employee

I'm a new agent and I currently get a 60-40 split with the agency and I'm a W2 employee. They gave me a couple hundred individual ACA customers(their whole health book) when I started as a defacto salary. I've owned several businesses in the past and am interested in 1st if I'm getting a good deal and 2nd how easy is it to 1099 agents like me? I think I'd be better off being able to write off car, phone, meals, home office and such. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Depends on what your commissions generated, deductible expenses, and what they reimburse you for. Also, I might assume that a portion of your earnings has FICA match based on W2 earnings.

Without that information, we can't figure out what way is best for you.