$1200 to Repair Bumper. Please Help.

sssx2

Hi. I had a minor accident a few weeks a go. I was at fault, and I hit the rear bumper of a 2016 Maserati Ghibli. Damage was very minor. (Forgot to take a picture...) It just seemed like the paint was off according to my license plate border lines.

It seems he went to a Maserati dealer to and got a quote. I got the picture of it and it shows $1200 (picture attached). Is the price reasonable? Will it be better to pay with cash or do it through insurance? It's my first time ever having a car accident... I will appreciate any advises. Thanks a lot in advance.

Attachments

• 123.jpg
    123.jpg
    279.2 KB · Views: 14
Last edited:
Is the price reasonable? Will it be better to pay with cash or do it through insurance?

Absolutely, the price is reasonable! I would have guessed more like two or three grand for a new Maserati. aren't they like 80K brand new?

with all these safety sensors that they're putting on new cars, the price to repair bumpers goes up and up and up.

I would recommend eating the $1200 and not filing a claim.

You got off lucky. $1200 is nothing.

You may want to consider filing the claim. Odds are he is going to want a rental for the day or two it spends in the shop since it looks like it is paint work. Plus, it could easily end up being more once they take the bumper cover off.

Completely your choice, but yes I'd say you are getting off lucky. The bumper cover alone may cost a few thousand after you consider the part, paint and labor.

Always your choice to file or not. If you can't part with $2,000 - $3,000 to take care of this, you may want to file. I inflated it to that to account for a rental and unexpected expenses. My guess is closer to $1,500 when it is all said undone if nothing unexpected comes up.