1st OEP went well....but

AgentBartlett

Expert
Now I want to hit the Med Supp market hard through the summer. How do I do that? I wonder if Sales genie would be a good way to go into some of the counties that have bad MA plans and call for Med Supps. I'm a new agent as of 1-1-08 and liking it so far. Mainly, I have been selling MA a few supps and several FE. (Looooooove FE). Any input from the veterans out there? Been lurking around here since before I got licensed and appreciate the good information.

With the popularity of MA's, it seems like sups would die off. The premiums are starting to spike with everything else. There is still plenty of turning 65 as well as those retiring.

There are counties here where the MA's are really bad. Even in the counties with a couple good MA plans you will still find plenty of people who would never go from a supp to a MA.

It's amazing how seniors think. I met with a couple this week (already a reverse mortgage client with my agency) and they pay $5400 a year for supp's and part D premiums.

The MAPD I offered was a very good one and would have saved them $3,000 a year. I overcame every objection and it met their needs ($0 hosp inpatient and outpatient along with $5 doc co-pays). They still have to think about it.

I've had 2 other clients cancel meetings (would have saved each over $1200 a year) without even finding out what we had to offer.

My motto around the office is "seniors suck". Keeps things loose. :D

You should check out the SNPs (both Duel and Chronic Health) in the counties you work in. If there are some available, you can continue to sell MAPD plans.

Even though MAs are so popular, we still sell a ton of Medicare Supplments. Some clients would rather pay for a plan F instead of paying the copays in an MA plan.