3 things I wish I knew starting out as a new agent

OregonDuckLaw

Expert
These are my 3 items, would love to hear from others on what their 3 are. Thought this thread might help some new agents just starting out in the business.

1) Commission Levels vary GREATLY with different agencies. Don't blindly sign up without comparing commission levels
2) Be prepared to invest a fair amount of money on leads. (This is why #1 is so important)
3) Stay on top of NSF's/Lapses to avoid chargebacks

Hope this helps!

These are my 3 items, would love to hear from others on what their 3 are. Thought this thread might help some new agents just starting out in the business.

1) Commission Levels vary GREATLY with different agencies. Don't blindly sign up without comparing commission levels
2) Be prepared to invest a fair amount of money on leads. (This is why #1 is so important)

Hope this helps!

I am in my 3rd year as a licensed agent, but I've only been full time for 10 months or so. Certainly nothing controversial about those three points.

So long as one signs with an IMO/Agency who posts regularly to this forum, one will probably get treated well with respect to commission levels.

Certainly a steady flow of leads makes life much easier than it would otherwise be if one had to do nothing but cold knock, but I believe that one could still make six figures net as a cold knocker if one had the work ethic to get out there and walk the walk each day.

As for NSF's/lapses, I try to save every one I can. I have not saved them all, but I make it a point to get in my car and get eyeball to eyeball with anyone who NSF's/cancels to try to save it. As of today, I have saved 7/11 of my NSF's - though I may be off on that as I had one lapse/cancel with RNA about which I was not notified by the company until I got a letter last week telling me about a $188 charge back. So I guess I am actually 7/12.