Michael Higdon

Hi,

My name is Michael and I live in Clarksville TN.
I’m happy to be a part of this community and hope to learn a lot.

I have a BSBA degree, but worked in full time vocational ministry as a worship leader/musician for well over 20 years. That is my area of strength and I was great at what I did. I was hired by a church in TX with over 18,000 people in attendance. Sadly, I hated it and it damaged my marriage. At the time, I had a wonderful wife and 2 kids under the age of 4, that I rarely got to spend time with. There are more factors involved, but my wife eventually divorced me and that has put a huge damper on my ministry prospects. (TMI I am sure, lol sorry).

So, at age 47, I am about to dive back into the Insurance field. It’s the only other work experience I have. If you pray, pray for me. I can sell, but I’m a creative, so certain things come easy for me, but other things do not. I know my weaknesses well, and I have to buck up and getter done. I know how to read and relate to people, so that is a plus.

My father has been with Colonial Life for over 60 years! He is 83 and still works a few days a month. I worked off and on with Colonial Life over a 4 year span. All total, I have about a year of experience w/Colonial. I did not enjoy working B2B group insurance, but even as a guy in his early 20s still in college, the money was good. I also worked one year at TN Farm Bureau in Paris, TN. I loved that job but left for the ministry.