A Newbie Here-been Offered Job with Visionary Insurance Partners-anybody Have an Opinion About VIP?

greygoose12

I'm looking into a career change as I've been laid off from my job and I've been looking into selling insurance. I know it takes awhile to build up your book and it's commission only but apart from that I'm really green. This company has given me an interview (not offered me a job yet) but they want $850 up front for training and licensing. Is this standard for new agents to pay to be trained? I can't find much news online about this company(Visionary Insurance Partners) but I'm a little wary of spending that kind of cash up front, especially knowing that I will have to pay for leads and it's commission only. Great forum for new people like me and I'm looking forward to learning more.

Thank you,

Greygoose12

I'm looking into a career change as I've been laid off from my job and I've been looking into selling insurance. I know it takes awhile to build up your book and it's commission only but apart from that I'm really green. This company has given me an interview (not offered me a job yet) but they want $850 up front for training and licensing. Is this standard for new agents to pay to be trained? I can't find much news online about this company(Visionary Insurance Partners) but I'm a little wary of spending that kind of cash up front, especially knowing that I will have to pay for leads and it's commission only. Great forum for new people like me and I'm looking forward to learning more.

Thank you,

Greygoose12

This screams scam to me. DO NOT PAY FOR TRAINING!!!!!!!!!! What state are you residing in?

I've been an independent in Northern NJ for over 25 years...I've never heard of Visionary Insurance Partners...Did the person who interviewed you indicate what market they would offer you training in for your up front fee??