Additional Insured or Named Insured

violet

:wub:Hello all, I am wondering if anyone in the insurance business can help me. I recently started working for an estate planning attorney. When we are funding assets into trusts one of the changes is to transfer their real estate into their trust, before we record the deed for this transfer we request the insurance carrier of their homeowners policy add the trust as additional insured. I cannot get a straight answer from anyone as to what are we expecting to get from this coverage. I used to be an agent in the 80s and 90s and additional insured was a third person liability coverage, so to speak. I do not understand why we would not add the owners as trustees and named insureds. Can someone give me some help on this, I am going round in circles.
Thanks, Violet
icon13.gif

I would ask the attorney why he wants it setup this way. A lot (most?) insurance companies won't write a trust as a named insured, since it has no way to verify loss histories or rating factors, i.e., risk.

Listing a trust as an additional insured protects it against physical loss, but leaves the liability coverage for the person who lives in the house (presumably a trustee). This way, if a dog, who is not part of the trust, but lives in the house, bites a visitor, the 'named insured' is covered. If the trust was the named insured, the dog would not belong to the trust, and therefore, would not be covered. (change the scenario as you see fit).

Realistically, in my view, the trust should have a landlord policy, with the person living in the house carring a renters policy. This would provide the best protection, and appropriately establish the relationship of the tenant to the trust. I've never seen one setup this way though.

Dan

Here's the definition of additional insured