Advice about captive opportunities

salyons

Hi everyone,
I am a 30 y/o single (well, not married) woman looking at new opportunities. I have been working in managed care for various medical clinics for the past few years. I have an MBA, but am not using it at all right now. I have been looking for a job for quite a while now, and it would seem that all I am getting are agent/personal financial planner opportunities:unsure:. I am very interested in running my own business and being directly responsible for my own success. I have interviewed with Bankers L&C, Farmers and American Family, as well as Ameriprise.

My first question is this: if I sign on w/ Farmers, they offer financial assistance for 2 years as long as you make your numbers. If you decide a year into the deal that it isn't for you, is like you are stuck with a loan that you make monthly payments on? (just want to understand the worst case scenario)
My second question is, after you have completed your first 2 years, if you decide to go independent, is it like starting from scratch again? Or is much easier with all of the experience you have gained. I am assuming you could not walk with the policies you signed.

I am feeling very antsy to get out of what I am doing now, but I don't have much of a financial cushion. I have about $9000 available if I cash out my pension when I leave my job. I live in Portland, Oregon. I am a great people-person, with a strong work ethic, but I have been known to make very rash, impetuous decisions in the past:err:.

I would also talk to NYL, Mass Mutual, NWFN, Metlife, Guardian, on the life/financial planning side. Others can recommend P&C companies to consider. Here is the best advice, don't be antsy, explore all options before you make a jump.

Hi everyone,