Advice for a Newbie Starting in the Industry

MrExcitement

I just found this forum and I am absolutely enamored with it...Tons of helpful information and it seems like a lot of people willing to give advice, some of which I am seeking right now.

I am a recent college graduate of Florida State University living in Tampa, Fl. I decided that it was in my best interest to try and start out with a company as a captive agent, the company I settled on was the Farm Bureau. However, after hearing that I would be trying to sell more life insurance than I care to think about at the age of 23, I decided that the opportunity was not for me. However, I did acquire both property casualty and life, health and variable annuity licenses with the intent of one day going indy. After figuring out that I do not want to work with the Farm Bureau I decided to take a telemarketing job selling AIG supplemental health plans...which is about as cool as showering with your father...All kidding asside they were paying only a dollar per hour rate only and it is a terrible job. However even with all of the bad press I am still was able to sell about 2 or 3 policies a day, with all of the leads given to me. Recently I have aquired another position with AAA to sell auto policies over the phone which is a better position, however it is not the exact position that I would like.( I would much rather work for a broker to learn first hand)