Advice for (fairly) New Agent in Arizona.

stanley

Hello Everyone,

Hoping to get some advice and I apologize in advance for what could be a long boring post. :D

I've been a licensed agent for about 3.5 months (Life + Health w/LTC cert), and been a captive agent at Bankers Life & Casualty since being licensed (sorry, didn't know better apparently).

BLC "cleaned house" at the office I am currently working out of due to 'ethics violations' by the previous agents (surprise!), and I was one of five agents contracted to 're-build' the office.

At this time four out of the five of us are still surprisingly sticking it out, but personally I'm beginning to have serious doubts about either a) sticking with BLC or b) sticking with insurance period. The CARROT that is being dangled out to us, is that since there is only a single manager (UFT) at the location, that they will be looking to promote the manager up and promote us 'senior' agents to UFT status (paid employee + benefits + comm?). I'm not sure I will last that long, even if it is true, as I'm burning through my life savings trying to work the BLC system. I'm especially concerned that a fellow agent with previous experience with insurance (AFLAC + some others) is struggling just as badly as the rest of us.

Since finding this forum I found the following post in a thread:
All BLC does is sell medicare supplements, annuities and long term care to Seniors. They have very few leads for new agents and you will be cold calling the "turning 65 list," and calling years old leads.

You will also have a variety of expenses to pay, while at the same time being treated as an employee.

And what I'm finding is that the post above is dead on accurate; however I'm not viewing this as time or money wasted as I have learned an enormous amount about Medicare, life insurance, health insurance and the insurance industry in general and insurance sales.