Advice of Explaining MAPD and Med Supp Options to Age Ins

timeflies

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I have been in Medicare sales for about 12 years now. Several of which I was a captive agent for MAPD plans, but I am a broker for all of the major MAPD and Med Supp carriers. I am trying to focus more on selling more Med Supps and many of my referrals recently have been to folks turning 65 or those new to Medicare. Now my presentations have to go over not only the MA option, but the options of buying a Med Supp during the guaranteed issue period and adding a separate stand alone Part D plan. As many agents know, this sometimes get "into the weeds" and can be hard to avoid. Several weeks ago, to try to help the prospect understand, I made a chart showing an estimated monthly cost for certain known factors with the MAPD on one side and the Med Supp on the other. I included the Part B premium of $134, any known co pays for prescriptions etc. Obviously the Med Supp side included the Med Supp and the Part D plan premium. On the MAPD side, I included a question mark for out of pocket expenses for co pays because that is the shortcoming with the MA plans and this would help folks decide which direction to go. Well I have had several appointments since I started showing the chart and several of these folks say they still need to thing about it before they decide which way to go. Any other suggestions to make the presentation more straight forward so the options are clear to folks and they can decide during the first appointment?

You don't have to sell anything.

Present facts. Let your prospect decide.

Would you like to keep your doctor or are you open to making a change to save $$?

Would you rather pay now or pay later?

BTW, paragraphs would be nice.

Is your chart CMS approved?