Advice on Opening my Own Agency. Which Way Do I Go??

EagerForIA

First off, I want to thank everyone for the plethora of knowledge and support that you provide on this site. I've been lurking on this forum for about a year now but have never set up an account and posted anything.

I think I am finally ready to get start but just don't know which way to go. The problem with reading this forum are the many conflicted opinions. :)

A little background on me.. I've currently live in Maryland and am planning to move to Georgia in the near future and start my own agency. I have been working for a State Farm agent for the past 10+ years and have been in the aspirant program for about 1 year now. I am licensed in P&C and L&H in MD, DC and VA. I have been averaging about 80 policies per month and around $60k-$70k in annualized premium. I used to write a lot of commercial lines but SF has really backed off of a lot of commercial stuff so I don't really seek that business out as much anymore but would like to under my IA. I am scared to death of going the State Farm route and this forum obviously solidifies this fear. Again, I've been working for an agent for 10+ years but I've never opened/run my own business. I feel like I'm running around like a headless chicken and I haven't even gotten further than researching/thinking about doing this. :)