AEP help and Directions to Go

I am going to try and participate in AEP this year Focusing on Dual enrollee's since they are expanding in my area.. As a newer agent my choices are work in a Walmart 20 hours a week. Captive agent with UHC (they are helping with marketing this year) or work with a guy who has 10 years experience in Medicare Advantage and has personally enrolled 1200 members willing to show 3 or 4 of us in our state how it is done. I am sure we are all faced with the same decisions but could someone chime in on the best route to go or do we even know?

Why would you want to be captive when UHC may not always be the best for your clients? Even if they are this year, it doesn't mean they will be in subsequent years.

I am going to try and participate in AEP this year Focusing on Dual enrollee's since they are expanding in my area.. As a newer agent my choices are work in a Walmart 20 hours a week. Captive agent with UHC (they are helping with marketing this year) or work with a guy who has 10 years experience in Medicare Advantage and has personally enrolled 1200 members willing to show 3 or 4 of us in our state how it is done. I am sure we are all faced with the same decisions but could someone chime in on the best route to go or do we even know?

Why would you focus on duals during AEP? They can change plans anytime.

Given your obvious lack of experience I would go with whoever can give you the best training this year (which might be UHC). Once you know what you're doing then you can go independent.

Rick

I just had an agent randomly contact me (I'm in PA) who tried convincing me to go the Dual-route under him and move several of my contracts under him. I already have those contracts at a higher level with the same FMO he's at. After I wrote 10 with each carrier, he'd bump me back up. He told me he has an edge as he speaks Spanish and has so many clients he couldn't even "count them all!"