Aflac life insurance policy - Questions

renee_rn

I work at a hospital as a registered nurse so insurance is not my thing and when it comes to this I have no knowledge of how it works. Here is the story:

My 62 year old father passed away on April 13, 2018 from a short term bout with cancer. Upon diagnosis he was terminally ill. Several years ago while he was working for Food Lion, he told me that he had taken out a life insurance policy for me to pay on my student loans for nursing school. Up until about 2 weeks before he passed away, he continued to tell me the same thing and also told me where to find the policy in his desk.

I have a picture of the Alfac Annual Statement from 2015-2016 but I am unsure what type of policy this is. My step mother has done some horrible things behind my dad's back by changing his policies listing her as beneficiary. This included policies left for his grandchildren. She informed me that she had changed everything the night my dad passed away. She told me she changed my policy that was left to pay my student loans as well. She made these changes while my dad was hospitalized in February 2018. He was severely confused and she had him sign a power of attorney. I feel that the power of attorney was illegally done and my dad had no idea that he signed it.

So I learned this week from the lawyer who did my dad's Will that my step mom found out she is not the beneficiary of the Aflac policy. I never sent in the beneficiary statement paperwork because she was so adamant that she changed everything.

I wanted to see if anyone could tell me anything about this Aflac policy and what kind of policy it may be.

Thanks for any information and time! I greatly appreciate any suggestions and information!

Attachments

• IMG-8605.JPG
    IMG-8605.JPG
    76.6 KB · Views: 36
It would appear to be universal life.