Agency opportunities--what's the inside scoop?

DM77

Expert
Montana
I've been working for a financial planning office for 6 1/2 years as an assistant (fully licensed-life, health, Series 7 & 66). I can sell stuff, find my own clients, etc but with supporting 2 reps, I don't have much time to deal with my own business. I get paid hourly and the carrot that keeps me going is the possibility of making bonus (monthly standard--however have only met the minimums once this year). I'm at a point that I'm sick of making sure my bosses are taken care of and want to break out on my own. However, I'm not in a position to go commission only.
My husband is at a point that he needs to find a new job/career. He herniated 2 disks a little over 2 years ago (on the job) and is stuck in a job at the company that's dead end--he'll get laid off as soon as the company can. I asked how he felt about going into the insurance field--possibly buying an agency if the right opportunity came up. He said he'd actually like that idea. Because of his veteran's status he could get funding through VA for doing so.
So I'm on the web looking for opportunities. I've seen A LOT of All State Agencies for sale...what's up with that? I don't really want to be an exclusive agent. I'd love to pickup an independent agency and stay with my B/D and continue to do financial planning. It would probably have to stay separate on the P/C side because my commissions clear through the B/D. Even though my B/D would get 15%, they have awesome technology and based on what I've read on some MGA deals others get, it looks my B/D has negotiated higher payouts for their reps. 15% is peace of mind because they deal with all of the compliance/FINRA stuff.
What sort of things should we look for? What asset level should we look for...and what sort of cash flow from those assets?