Agency Start-Up or Not

TCG Inc.

Goal: I am looking for advice to help with the decision if the timing makes sense to start my own agency.

Background: I have over 8 years of experience writing commercial/group/life and have been on the independent side for 3 years working for an agency with top tier carriers. I average 80-100k of revenue production per year.

I have always had the goal of owning an agency and came to my current agency on the promise of future ownership, but I will be a minority shareholder for at least 20 years.

I have the ability to get an appointment from Erie, but will need to spend more time on personal lines than I have in the past. I also will sell benefits.

Problem: I'm having trouble forecasting expenses. Is there a good rule of thumb for a percentage of revenue? Also. I have no idea on what to forecast for potential contingencies in future years. Lastly, I know my revenue numbers will take a hit as I will be wearing more hats. I will be walking away from six figures guaranteed. Any help is appreciated.

thomasm has a good reply but also to add to that, you need to do a demographic survey. Meaning that you need to find the location of your office. These are the key factors that you will need to consider:
1. How much rent will cost. Will it have a triple net cost to it?
2. How much will phone and internet cost per month?
3. Desks cost
4. Computer costs - You will need a computer tech to handle any problems that may arise
5. Fax machine
6. Signage
7. Advertising
8. Electricity and water
9. BOP Insurance
10. E&O insurance

Set a budget of what you can afford every month if you don't sell well in colder seasons. Most people I know are paying $2500 - $8000 per month to keep the lights on. Forecasting is researching on costs of things and creating an estimate of you sales for the past 3-5 years to support the payables.