Agent Commission Split

jadigirl

I am a new independent agent in the panhandle of TX. I was kinda thrown into it because my boss bought into the agency and he bought the building. I am a bookkeeper, when we moved into the office, I had to get my license so I could help the other Partner with her clients and help to pull in new clients. When they had their meeting a couple weeks ago, she told my boss and the other partner that it was customary for the independent agent to receive 35% of new buisness and 20% on renewals. Keep inind, I have not received a dime from the agency. I have wrote quite a few policies but my motivation lacks due to the % split she said was customary. I thought a 60/40 was fairly standard. Can you advise me please?

Jimmie Dee Bennett
(806) 679-8087

I do the books for 3 other farming operations, my salary come from one of the companies, in which i also receive my benefits from. My boss owns the 3 companies, and i have worked for him for the past 15 years. The 3 companies and the insurance company split the overhead on the utilities and operating expenses of the office, except for advertising. The agency pays me nothing at the present time. The e& o is paid by the agency.

----------

None of my equipment, computers, printer, tablet, desk or otherwise is owned by the agency.