AGLA Positions

Another newby here. I'm considering two agent opportunities. 1) American General Life 2) AFLAC

I'm newly licensed and live in Florida were I have only recently moved. My background is in law enforcement and private investigations. No commission sales experience at all. AGLA offers a 12 week paid training program for what I beleive will be a career agent position and AFLAC is just the opposite. Any suggestions on the best route to begin in a sales career in insurance. I dont have a lot of debt but I can not go for 4 months without a paycheck. How is the market changing and were are the customers these days with these economic conditions. I'm willing to do the work I just dont want to start off on the wrong foot with the wrong product. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I'd definitely pass on AFLAC. Too much of a negative impression with business owners. They get tired of 3-4 AFLAC agents a day calling on them.

AGLA can work, depending on the market you want to work. Other places to consider are Mass Mutual, Guardian, New York Life, Northwestern Mutual and MetLife. Or you can go purely independent. Depending on how quickly you write your first app and how quickly you get it through underwriting, you could get paid 60-90 days after getting licensed.

I'll look into those other companies as well. Another question, if I were to go independent I guess I would apply directly to the insurance company. Would I need to set up a DBA or Corporation or will they appoint me as an individual? Again I dont have a clue about the appointment process.

You can work as a 1099, effectively a sold propreitor. However, most companies will not appoint you directly, you will need to use one or more GA/FMO/IMOs as a middle man for your business. They'll get you appointed and give you contracts. You can also receive some help that you might not get directly from the carrier.