Am I Crazy for Considering a Move from Independent to Captive?

mh5918a

So here's the situation, and I thank you ahead of time for any advice you may give after reading my long-winded dilemma.

I've been doing Insurance for almost two years now. Started at that fine Insurance Institution known as Bankers Life.

Now, from reading these forums, and having lived it myself, there isn't much we need to say about Bankers. Suffice to say, it was an okay place to learn a bit about the industry, but once I really learned about how Bankers products and practices compared to everyone else, I knew I had to go.

So just over one year after staring at Bankers, I decided to go Independent.

As things currently stand, my product portfolio could really not be any better. But to say sales are flat would be an understatement. (As sad as it is, I sold more at Bankers.)

I realize now that I probably jumped the gun too soon. (Please offer any opinion on that, if you disagree.) I have read all sorts of posts here about going Independent after you have enough experience, and to be blunt, I do not believe I had enough.

However, in terms of making phone calls and overall prospecting, I know I haven't put nearly as much effort into it while an Indy, as I did when captive. No excuses for that at all, all I can honestly say is that a supervisor and office environment helped me focus as a captive, I spent less time focusing on product knowledge as a captive, because the product offering was more limited. Also had some leads as a captive, which weren't always great, but they were something.

Question is this, as someone still new in this career, would you recommend sucking it up and just getting better as an Independent, (Knowing that I will not have a more competitive product offering than the one I have now.) or does it sometimes make sense for a newer agent to return back to captive?