Ameriplan

midwestbroker

Guru
1000 Post Club
Columbia, MO
If I remember right, Ameriplan is a MLM company right?

I have this agent wih them wanting me to sign up to sell it.

2 Reasons I am looking at it:

1. A discount dental plan to offer my clients.

2. I have a source for illegal immigrants (lets not go over the top on this issue) who want some type of insurance but cannot afford (or who do not have a social security number) regular insruace. This place will put thier kids on heathwave (a Kansas medicaid type program for kids) but not do anything for the adults. I have premission to advertise there but all the carriers I know of need a social security number. Ameriplan does not.

Any thoughts and ideas? I know I brought up illegal immigrants, but if they are here and not being deported, as far as I am concerned, they are potential clients. I am an equal opportunity agent!

Let's put this issue to bed: Anyone is allowed to buy any product they want in this country as long as they fully understand two things:

1) The details about the product
2) Their options

If you want to buy a $500 car out of the paper with 250,000 miles and the owner says the transmission is trashed then go buy it. You know what you're buying.

I don't care who buys Ameriplan for dental or the medical discount as long as they know exactly how it works and what other options they might have.

Problems occur when reps portray the Ameriplan medical discount as insurance or better than insurance. It's also a problem is they qualify for insurance but that's all you offer.

So let's wrap this up:

1) They don't qualify for insurance
2) They don't qualify for any state or government program
3) They understand how the plan actually works
4) They understand the potential liability

Then it's all good.