annuity for a non-profit?

pfg1

Guru
1000 Post Club
I have a client that is in charge of a non-profit that has a decent amount of excess money from the sale of some assets and they want to put it somewhere to grow perpetually, and peel off a small amount of the profit each year to fund certain things.

Any suggestions on what carriers are non-profit friendly, and or a product that may be a good fit? I've never worked with a non-profit before. They are a 501c3. TIA!

How about a single premium life policy instead? Same taxation rules apply.

Per Tools and Techniques of Life Insurance Planning:

Natural Persons Only

Tax-free buildup within the contract is allowed only to natural persons.[5] If an annuity contract is held by a person who is not a natural person, then the annuity contract is not treated as an annuity and the income on the contract is treated as ordinary income received or accrued by the owner during that taxable year.

Corporations are not natural persons. Neither is the typical trust, although a trust acting as the agent for a natural person would itself be considered a natural person. But if an employer is the agent for its employees, the contract will be considered as if owned by the employer. The employer will therefore be taxed on the inside build up. This means that annuities are no longer appropriate tax advantaged investments for nonqualified deferred compensation agreements. Exceptions from the natural persons rules allow tax-free buildup of the following annuities:[6]

(a)Annuities received by the executor of a decedent at the decedent’s death

(b)Annuities held by a qualified retirement plan or IRA

(c)Annuities considered qualifying funding assets (used to provide funding for structured settlements and by property and casualty insurance companies to fund periodic payments for damages)