Another "new to insurance" thread from a newbie

Agent5913

Expert
First post!

Hi everyone. Im from good ol NC and I need some insight. Let me begin by saying that I am a male, 34 and have been in the New and used car business for 12 years. I can and have sold it all. I am currently a sales manager a my hometown New Car, Franchise Dealer.

I have recently been offered a position with a local branch to be an agent. I will sell Life, AH and P&C (I guess) I will contract through them, not be independent.

I have been seeking a new career since the decline of the auto industry and my life needs change. I feel like I am cut out for this type of work and feel I wont have a problem helping others and selling product.

I do have some reservations tho. I have test fobia. I can say that I will be required to take an IQ and personality test and have to pass the IQ and that scares me to death. Im a pretty sharp guy but have never been a test taker and have failed one like this in the past due to being so nervous.

The other... I just had my first interview this afternoon and it went well. He is waiting on me to give the go ahead and the 2 test are the first things. Later, I will have to travel out of town to school for a week and then FLY out to another state for more.

He did not get into salary too much. He did say that I would receive a book of business and would be required to use it to build my own book over the years. I will be required to sell 3 Life policies per month. That seems very doable but again, Im new.

I have no idea how one would get paid. I think I would get a percentage of the book of business that the agency mgr. puts me in charge of and that will be my starting salary.