Another Trial Right Question

sshafran

Guru
1000 Post Club
NC
Ok, so I thought I had this thing down pretty well....

Evidently I'm an amateur not ready for the big leagues ;)

So my client T65 in April 2015 and we went with an MAPD HMO.

She is now considering a supplement due to the referral restrictions...asked for deadline on that, and I told her that her real deadline is the end of March to switch to supp using trial right, but to switch to another mapd it is 12/7...

So then she doesn't know which one she'll want, we have an hmo here that is new and good not requiring referrals...so she wants to consider that...then asks, "If I go with this new advantage plan for next year, then decide that I do want the Supplement, can I still make that switch in March?"

Hm.....

So she would still be in the 1st year, but it would be her 2nd MAPD. Would the SEP65 on her PDP go through as well as GI on supp?

Inquiring minds want to know...

Good question, I would assume she would be ok since its within her first year on a MAPD. The rule doesn't specify that it can be only one

When it comes to SEP 65, the rule states "Begins month enrolled in MA for first time, ends 12 months after effective date". What it doesn't state is "...ends 12 months after effective date or date plan terminates, whichever is earlier." so the SEP 65 should work for the Part D.

For the Trial Right on a Medsupp, it all comes down to the carrier's interpretation of the rule. It's worth reaching out to the carrier you're thinking about directly to see how they would interpret it.

Good question, I would assume she would be ok since its within her first year on a MAPD. The rule doesn't specify that it can be only one

That's my assumption. I'm guessing that someone has run into this before...

----------

For the Trial Right on a Medsupp, it all comes down to the carrier's interpretation of the rule. It's worth reaching out to the carrier you're thinking about directly to see how they would interpret it.