Anyone here with Farmers?

I'm looking to get into the insurance business and responded to a careerbuilder add for a job with Farmers. Turns out its an offer to assist you in opening your own agency.The person on the phone made it sound like a good oppurtunity. They said I pay $270.00 to get my license which they help me study for and then I work in their office for 2 to 12 months, commission only, and then based on my performance I can go career and get my own agency. They even subsidise the expenses of starting up.(office, equipment, supplies, etc.) Is this for real? If so I know this is no get rich quick job and its going to take alot of hard work but how hard is it really?

I've been a Farmers agent for a little over a year now. I couldn't have started my agency without their subsidy. It is not a 'magical' time. It's endless hours, endless frustrations, blah blah blah, but yes, they do give you $1500/mo. plus commissions after you turn into a career agent, which means that you bring in 40 P&C & 4 Life policy's within a 3 month period. Of course, that was my contract, I'm in CA, contracts vary from territory to territory, but it will be something like that. It's not hard to meet the quotas, but the quotas must be met in order to get the $1500 subsidy.

Many of the 'benefits' such as office space, equipment, training etc..., depends completely on your District Manager. He has COMPLETE control over all of this. SHOP around for a DM. It may sound funny, but it's true. Ask them what their sales track record was. Make sure they will take you out in the field and show you how to be successful. You can buy leads all day long, but if you can't close, blah blah blah.

AND FOCUS ON COMMERCIAL, EVEN THOUGH YOUR DM & THE COMPANY WON'T WANT YOU TO.
PM me or write back to know more.