Anyone Willing to Take the Time and Answer my Questions?

microscopes

WARNING: I have little to NO knowledge of the insurance industry, so treat me with kid gloves, please.

I have been in the auto sales (manager at a dealership) industry for many years. I make decent money (70k-ish). But I'm looking for a change. I would like to be self employed and own my own business. I have an acquaintance who owns an agency, but I think he would be uncomfortable answering these questions. With that in mind, I have a few questions for those who are willing to answer.

1) What's the difference in practicality between owning your own agency (Microsocopes insurance agency) vs owning a national brand (Geico Insurance Agency, franchised by Microscopes)? Pros and Cons?

2) I know this depends on the market I'm in, but how long on AVERAGE does it take until the agency will profit a livable wage (over $50k). Another way of asking this would be, how much money do I need to have saved (or borrow) to live on, until income is stable?

3) Pro's and Con's of starting fresh vs purchasing a book of business? Is this even possible nowadays?

4) Is it even possible to get licensed and start your own agency? Or do you have to work for another company first? I see lots of info out there about trouble getting appointments

I appreciate those who are willing to answer my incredible naive questions!

Last edited: