Are the CIC and CRM Designations Worth Getting?

jos.ins

They sound good but just seem too easy to get to actually be worth anything. Does anyone have any insight? I am a new agent approaching the end of my first year in the business and it is time for me to get a designation. Is there any designation that someone new should go for? I have my life license and am getting my P&C license in April.

Your post doesn't make sense to me.

You are approaching the end of your first year having been licensed in life & health...

You are looking to add P&C licensing in the near future...

... but you are looking into CIC and CRM designations??? These designations are primarily for agents and/or home office employees of a P&C insurance company.

https://www.scic.com/courses/CIC

https://www.scic.com/courses/CRM

Most P&C agents generally pursue the CPCU designation, if they pursue any at all in the area of P&C.

For Life & Health, there are more to choose from, but most generally start with LUTCF and move into CLU and ChFC.

Collecting designations just to collect designations is not in your best interest. Obtaining relevant training and certification for your chosen direction IS a good idea, if you already have a good track to run on for client acquisition and selling. (Don't expect a designation to teach you how to sell, or to have people 'fawn' over your designations and worship the ground you walk on - but it is expected that with additional expertise, you can find more opportunities to help people in a more comprehensive way.)

Your post doesn't make sense to me.

You are approaching the end of your first year having been licensed in life & health...

You are looking to add P&C licensing in the near future...

... but you are looking into CIC and CRM designations??? These designations are primarily for agents and/or home office employees of a P&C insurance company.

Most P&C agents generally pursue the CPCU designation, if they pursue any at all in the area of P&C.