Are you a Financial Analyst or Advisor or an Insurance Agent

Hey People,

I was wondering if anyone here considers themselves a Financial Analyst or Advisor by only having a L/H or P/C? or Do you have to have a Series 6,7,or 63 or do you have to have a degree?

I'm curious to know because I'm really interested in the becoming or being known as a Financial Analyst or Advisor rather than an insurance agent. I want to know what other steps there are to become one. I have a degree but it's not in finance. Is it more profitable to have your series 6, 7 or 63? Thanks for the input.

Nttwrkz1

CFA Institute Home

If you want to put yourself out there as an FA. Good luck being full service without at least a series 6.

My degree is in finance and while I try to take on a consultative role, I don't call myself a financial adviser.

CFA Institute Home

If you want to put yourself out there as an FA. Good luck being full service without at least a series 6.

My degree is in finance and while I try to take on a consultative role, I don't call myself a financial adviser.

Hey, thanks for your input. So If I get my CFA, I can then consider myself a FA? Why don't you call yourself a FA? Have you increased your income considerably since obtaining your CFA and do you think by me not having a degree in finance It will be difficult for me to understand the material and are you suggesting that I at least obtain my series 6 before I can consider the CFA course? Thanks

Nttwrkz1

CFA Institute Home