Associate Agent with Nationwide--UNHAPPY

Hi everyone,

I posted in another thread about the same thing...I'm a veteran sales producer. Spent 15 long years building a book of business with Aflac...took a BIG hit in 2008 and lost a lot of my book, but am still collecting some modest renewals.

I probably jumped at my current job too quickly. I was desparate and itching to get AWAY from Aflac (their business model changed and the focus now is recruit, recruit, recruit. Hire anyone with a license, and who cares if we lose them 3 group later...kind of the 'Amway model', as I like to call it--yuck.)

A small, local Nationwide agency was advertising for a commercial agent. I interviewed and they hired me immediately. Sent me to P&C school, paid for my test, (passed first time.) and my license.. I get a MODEST base that goes down every year, as i build my renewals.

Here are the problems:

1. Nationwide's appetite for commercial is very limited. They seem scared to get into a lot of industries. I DO have something called "Nationwide Brokerage Solutions" where i can place groups that NW turns down, but the prices are always sky high, and turn off the client. So 40% or more of the contacts I'm making, and appointments I'm setting are eventually turned down. Frustrating.

2. Commissions. They're LOW. 14%, half of which I have to give to the agency.

3. This is a small agency; they are located in the middle of a crowded, mixed-use neighborhood. Their bread-and-butter is Personal Lines. People come in every day to pay their car insurance in cash. I'm like the red-headed stepchild in the office...the CSR's are focused on current business, and NOT anything I"m doing.