Authorization Form to sell life insurance to Medicare Client

Pancur

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
IL
Hi,
One of my current Medicare clients wants to buy life insurance from me. I'm still new in this "Medicare regulated world" but I know that the client should sign first an authorization form to use his PHI form.
Can you guys suggest where to get the form?

Hi,
One of my current Medicare clients wants to buy life insurance from me. I'm still new in this "Medicare regulated world" but I know that the client should sign first an authorization form to use his PHI form.
Can you guys suggest where to get the form?

Excuse me, but what? I'm really not sure what you're asking, but let me just say this. Just sell them as though they are not your client for anything else. That'll work.

Are you sure you are not thinking of a MEDICAID customer looking for Life Insurance?

In "AHIP Marketing Medicare Advantage and Part D Plans" on page 55 it says:

"Plans/Part D Sponsors must obtain HIPAA authorization from an enrollee prior to using or disclosing the enrollee’s protected health information (PHI) to market non-health related items or services such as accident-only policies, life insurance policies or annuities."

Source: :https://www.carevalue.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/AHIP-Medicare-Modules-4-5.pdf

In "AHIP Marketing Medicare Advantage and Part D Plans" on page 55 it says:

"Plans/Part D Sponsors must obtain HIPAA authorization from an enrollee prior to using or disclosing the enrollee’s protected health information (PHI) to market non-health related items or services such as accident-only policies, life insurance policies or annuities."

Source: :https://www.carevalue.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/AHIP-Medicare-Modules-4-5.pdf

First off, you are not a sponsor. This is saying that the sponsors cannot market other products to the enrollee without prior consent. This has not one thing to do with you selling them a life policy.