Average P&C Premium [Michigan, Captive]

evanpat

I'm a rather young producer, 24 years old, and I'm about a year into my insurance career. I'm licensed in property, casualty, life, & health in the state of Michigan. With a background in sales, I transitioned into insurance smoothly but with lots of great mentors and training to start off with.

I've always been meeting my goals set my managers and consistently praised for my growth in my first year. However, now that I am switching to a new agency for a higher paying structure and better work environment, I've done some research about the different expectations of other work environments. It never dawned on me to ask at my old employer, but I am curious to know what would be considered the benchmark for "average" in the state of Michigan (in terms of monthly written premium) for a property & casualty lines producer? What's considered "good" or "great" or even "poor"?

The way my new agency that I'll be starting at records premium for my sales and commissions are annualized auto (the policy's are 6 months) and property policies (all 12 months) written in a month. I live in the state of Michigan where auto rates are higher than almost everywhere else. According to my pay structure and what the other employees and managers that work there told me, their average sale is $3,600 per household (roughly 1 home policy plus 2 annualized-auto policies, full coverage). This is also an Allstate agency and I'll be selling solely personal lines property & casualty.

Thanks.

I have a agency in West Michigan.What part of MI are you from? If you are on the east side the premiums are larger.
Phil