Awaiting KAPLAN Study Material, But in the Mean Time

Cantango1

New poster here so bear with me as I learn how your forum works.

I am looking into becoming an Insurance Professional. I have ZERO insurance experience and will be starting knowing basically nothing. Im hoping this is a good thing as I am a fresh slate. But even starting the first chapter of my reading material I feel a bit lost.

Either way, having no experience in the insurance field I have contacted local agents in the hopes I could find a "mentor". It seems this direction has paid off and have our first phone meeting tonight.

So in the hopes of making a great first impression, what are some questions you asked when you first started out ? What had you wished you had known/asked?

If it makes a difference I will be studying for Property and Casualty but will then focus my efforts on Equine and Agricultural.

I did search previous threads but didnt find anything that would really fit for what Im looking for. I apologize if this does exist, but feel free to point me to any other threads I will find helpful !!

Re: Awaiting KAPLAN Study Material, But in the Mean Time....

There is nothing you can do to make a good first impression. If you have a phone meeting you may have already made a good impression. The number one thing you want to do is be quiet and listen. I'd suggest you use the power of the internet, begin searching definitions of words or subjects within your study material you dont understand. This way with your new found mentor, you can focus on the things you couldn't find on the internet.

Thanks for the reply.

As I said I dont have any experiance in the field. I just recently purchased study material. So while your answer makes sense, At this point I dont understand any of it. Im afraid I would find myself googling for days !!!