B2b....or B2c (which Do You Like)?

Mike Siegal

Guru
100+ Post Club
Searching for input from the PROS here...

I'm a beginner and have acquired both PC and LH lic. After talking to lots of FMO's, agencies, etc I LEARNED that there are 2 biz models. Now I'm trying to determine what's best for me. --->"B2B or B2C"

I Want to get a discussion on Why agents feel "it's better" FOR THEM to do B2B or B2C? I am considering LH ("group" sales vs "Individual)" And also PC ("personal lines" vs. "PC Comm.").

Looking at it from an objective point of view, B2b vs. B2c are totally different business models and would require Totally different skill sets.

I'm of the opinion that:
  • B2B - harder to get started, requires more reputation, but business is stickier and easier to maintain an income level, in the same vein it is harder to grow huge. B2B focus is more on utility, efficiency, robustness.
  • B2C - easier to start small, harder to grow without first becoming a sensation, customer is more fickle and tougher to survive "small/medium", but it is easier to grow large income on achieving momentum. Consumer focus is more on fun, helpful, viral.

I'm looking for feed back or opinions on B2B vs B2C.

QUESTION;
  • Which Biz Model is best "for you" and WHY?
  • Have you ever tried both or switched from one to another...if so Why?

Anyway, i'd appreciate your constructive input and Thanks in advance.

~M

Too many variables beyond what you've mentioned to consider.

In my not-so-humble opinion, the first thing a new agent needs to do is build momentum in their career. Consider how many homes are in your area... compared to how many businesses. I'm willing to bet there are 100x more homes than there are businesses. That's 100x more decision makers for each CEO of their respective households... and you're generally able to talk to them more easily than through a 'gatekeeper'.