Becoming a Sub Agent: Good or Bad?

There is someone here in my local area who I believe operates as a General Agent, I'm pretty sure they are not an IMO, she is trying to recruit me as a Sub Agent for Aetna to sell Medicare products.

I'm licensed as a General lines agent, life and heath.

I contacted this person because I wanted to work with someone local to help me learn the business. So if I had an issue or problem, I'd have someone nearby to help me resolve it.

But there is something telling me that I may be giving up commissions being a sub agent . Is this right?

When she sent me the paper work, there was no commission schedule attached and if I did get one, at this time, I'm not sure what commission amounts would be good deal or a lousy one.

What should I be looking out for? Am I really going to need someone local to work in this particular industry?

Thank you for your thoughts or suggestions about this.

As a sub-agent you are likely being paid by the agent.

Unless you have no other options in life, this is a complete no-no. You won't own the business, you will earn less commission, and when you leave, you have nothing.

Other than that, it's probably a good idea.:no:

Rick

The only reason to consider giving up your commissions is if there is a salary involved or *maybe* if there is some *great* training.

That being said, if the company you're talking is truly a GA with Aetna they can probably give you the same contracts as Aetna and you could be direct pay with Aetna. If you are direct pay from Aetna and they're offering to pay you, that's probably a pretty good deal for you and them, but probably a little more to your advantage than theirs.