Becoming Independent Agent

BKW2014

I am looking at starting my own independent agency. I am just getting back into the field after taking some time away. I have been a captured agent in the past but want to go independent. Can anyone give me advise on where to look? I am in Colorado and have my license for Life-Health-Property-Casualty.

BKW

I am looking at starting my own independent agency. I am just getting back into the field after taking some time away. I have been a captured agent in the past but want to go independent. Can anyone give me advise on where to look? I am in Colorado and have my license for Life-Health-Property-Casualty. BKW

Pick one or the other to focus on. Life and Health is easier to get contracts with companies directly to sell their products. Prop & Cas not so much..You either need to partner with an existing agency, find a "cluster" out by you that will most likely have a fee and take a part of your comm, or start by selling the non standards such as progressive.

If it's been a while since you've been in the game I would suggest finding someone to work with for a bit that knows what they're doing and can point you in the right direction.

I am looking at starting my own independent agency. I am just getting back into the field after taking some time away. I have been a captured agent in the past but want to go independent. Can anyone give me advise on where to look? I am in Colorado and have my license for Life-Health-Property-Casualty. BKW