BECOMING INDEPENDENT

captiveagent

Expert
Hi Guys,

The past couple months I have been reading this forum and it has been very informative... THANKS!

My current situation:
I am a captive agent for one of the larger P&C mutual companies (top three: State Farm, Farmers and American Family).
Been in the business for three years with about 1,500 policies on the books (owned by the insurance company).
Currently have three staff members (two full-time, one part-time).
Writing on average 100 policies every month (5-10 being life insurance).

Can you guys help me put together a plan in this thread?

What companies should I sign with? Process?

Start off very slowly. I think that the first step will be to try and identify the companies that you will need to have contracts with, in order to be competitive in every market that you work. You should probably have a decent view of the landscape, so that shouldn't be too hard. Collect the information about who you can speak to, when you are ready to move. The better organized you are when you start your research, the better chance you will have of succeeding.

The research should focus on the lines that you are most successful with. Unless you are in NY, life insurance prices are pretty similar across state lines, and it is easy to get contracts with the best companies. Health is harder, and auto and home are even more so. Also, if you do any commercial prop and cas, you will need to do some research on who is competitive.

Get strong clarity on what will happen to your existing clients. You may have to drop all of them. I assume from your numbers, that you are in an excellent walk-up location, and are also good at sales. That will be particularly helpful, if you can't bring any of your clients with you. You can be sure that the company will enforce the agreement they have with you.