Beginning a Career at Mass Mutual

cqmoore

Hello members,

All the information you all have given was vital to my decision to work for Mass Mutual. My situation is unique in the fact that I am a school teacher and the firm is allowing me to finish this semester of teaching and start in December. During the time while I am teaching they are going to get me licensed with life and health. I am posting because I want more advice on things I can be doing to make my transition from teaching to insurance smooth. How can I be building prospects and what are some good websites to look at? What are some skills I can began mastering? Thanks again for any and every piece of information you all are able to share. Also I know that I have to get my series 6 and 63 license but should I consider getting my series 7?

God Bless

Ask your contact at Mass Mutual to get you the producer guides for Whole Life and for the Disability Product, along with access to fieldnet's online video training for those products.

Get to know the products real well.

Simultaneously, start picking a business market to cold-call hard and find a few good scripts to use. You'll be in the white-collar market with the Mass Mutual products (which is fine), and the business market has a ton of support from the advanced market team in home office to whom you'll have direct access.

Day one hit the phones hard, hard, hard and line up a ton of appointments. Read Nick Murray's "Game of Numbers" in preparation for your prospecting. Bob Klee in the cold-calling forum made a great comment yesterday that "either the phone is ringing in or it is dialing out." (don't get caught up with lead cards, orphan clients, appointment setters. This is a DIY business for newbies).