Being an added driver

Moving4ward

I am 47 and have 2 DUI convictions in the last 10 years. The last one was in 2014. I have been driving my parents car since 2016 as an added driver on my “parents” MetLife auto insurance policy.

As an added driver on their policy, does that count as a good thing in the future when I might purchase my own car and have my own policy in my name?

Say I purchase a car later this year, put it in my name and apply for my own policy. Do insurance companies consider my situation still a “lapse in coverage” even though I’ve been named on their policy and have had no incidents?

I am 47 and have 2 DUI convictions in the last 10 years. The last one was in 2014. I have been driving my parents car since 2016 as an added driver on my “parents” MetLife auto insurance policy.

As an added driver on their policy,

Are you sure you're an "added" driver? Have you seen the policy and confirmed that your name is on the declaration page as a listed driver? I can't imagine any insurance company accepting a driver with a DUI that was only 2 years old in 2016. At least not without a substantial surcharge.

Better check that out. If you've only been a permissive use driver all this time and your parents didn't tell the insurance company, they could lose their insurance if anything happened.

Do insurance companies consider my situation still a “lapse in coverage”

I wouldn't think so. Assuming you were actually a listed driver, you would list the policy information as requested on Page 2 of this sample application:

https://www.formsboss.com/pdf/90 PA.pdf

As for your DUI, here's something you should know. Insurance companies obtain driving records that run for the last 5 years and the applications usually ask about convictions during that period or less.