Being Forced to Pay an 'additional Fee' - Advice Needed

Maruchino

I am new to the US (my company moved me here in August).

In early September I signed a lease for a new car. At the same time I took out an insurance policy with a reputable brand with a local agent.

I signed the paperwork and provided all the correct information.

Being new to the US, my UK record is not taken into account, so my policy was approximately $850/6 months - I paid this upfront.

I received a letter 2 months later saying that I owed a 'miscellaneous change' for an additional $314, even though I had not made a change to the policy.

I questioned it via email. My agent has informed me that he had incorrectly assumed that a discount he applied at the time of purchase was actually only valid for military members (I am not in the military and not eligible for this discount).

Can anyone give me their 2 cents on where I stand with this? Am I forced to pay do you think?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Your agent quoted you the wrong premium due to the discount mistake and you will have to pay the additional amount.

If the agent misquoted you and put that in writing that they gave you a discount that didn't apply I would ask them why they applied it in the 1st place? Did they do this just so you would buy the policy, knowing the rate would increase after the fact? Have you talked to the carrier direct and explained to them that your agent wrote you and told you they applied the wrong discount and was it intentional or not. If it was intentional then there is an issue. Sometimes carriers will work with you it never hurts to try. You have several options from that point but it really comes down to did they intentionally misquote you or not.