Blueprint Starting Out

Jul 11, 2015

1. wolfe42

wolfe42 Expert

I was wondering if some of you could give me an idea of how to start preparing myself to start selling insurance.

I am taking my Life and Health exam in a couple of weeks, and was just wondering how some of you started your business out and what type of results you came up with.

I am a independent agent and getting ready to work with a successful agent that has been in the business for about 35 years.

I know his views on starting out, but I would like some different feedback from some professionals out there as well

Thank You

2. DHK

DHK Sweep the Leg!

State:
    California
    What specifically are you going to be selling?

3. wolfe42

wolfe42 Expert

Hi DHK,

I will be selling Life and Health products, although I am not sure what companies I will be going through or niche market at this point.

Like I mentioned earlier, I am going to work with a guy that is very respected in the industry, and he is 65 years old.

I have gotten to know him over the last few years and he said he would help me get started and mentor me.

However, I like to look on down the road so can be prepared and get a plan of action in place, but he tells me to just get my license and we can go from there.

So I guess I feel a little in the dark about how to proceed after I get my license.

Thanks

4. kstein

kstein Guru

Step one: sign up your partner for a med sup!

5. xrac

xrac Guru

State:
    Indiana
    Buy and read Building a Financial Services Clientele : A Guide to the One Card System by O. Alfred Granum, Delia Alberstein and Barry Alberstein (2001, Hardcover). You can get it in Half.com fir about $5.00 with shipping. This will give you a plan of action.

6. wolfe42

wolfe42 Expert

Thanks for your input Xrac :biggrin:

7. DHK

DHK Sweep the Leg!

State:
    California
    What you need... is a job description.

Here's one to get you going:
    1) Work 45-50 hours per week