BNI Vs Chamber of Commerces

Join both, they are not exclusive from one to the other.

Chamber is good to get to know everyone in town, but its full of realtors and insurance guys.

BNI is more of a referral group, but you are limited to who gives you referrals, since every group has a P&C person.

Both make sense, at least for while.

Dan

I personally have been visiting BNI meetings. I'm new to my area, and have had a lot of fun getting to meet select groups of other business owners. I like the fact that I will be the only representative in my industry.

I haven't been to a chamber meeting yet, but it is definitely something that I am looking into.

If you can fill the spot for BNI take it and do what they tell you as far as the meeting with members and learning about there biz as to who you can refer to them. It is very hard to find an Insurance slot in BNI.

I've been in two BNI groups in two different states. Both times I had to spear head starting a new group as a P&C agent. Worth all the time & effort in my opinion. Best consistent source of new business I've ever had. Plus, Nothing beats a referral. "lead" is a bad four letter word in a BNI group:biggrin: You don't give leads to friends, you give referrals which carry the weight of your credibility with them.

The chamber was good when I was a newbie to meet other business owners but as a source of referrals....not worth my time. I used the Chamber to network to find the members I wanted to recruit to my BNI group. Both BNI groups were in towns where I had no background/connection at all in so I had to network like crazy.

for BNI

insurance is usually always taken, and its very hard to find people interested in starting a new chapter so you get the insurance spot.

there's an allstate in my area that is part of all 3 chapters -.-, and he wont give up a spot for me!