Brand New from Louisiana! Trying to Decide Between P&C or L&H...

LAL

[FONT=&quot]Hello everyone! I am brand new to the industry and do not have my license yet, but I do have a Bachelor of Arts. I'd like to become an agent in [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Louisiana[/FONT][FONT=&quot], but still trying to decide whether it is better to start out in P&C or L&H. [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Any suggestions would be great. [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Also...Which companies have training and/or programs for college graduates?

Thanks in advance!
[/FONT]

Where are you located in la? I know going below I10 is sticky as far as auto and home because of the hurricanes. Mainly homeowners is tough to write.

Welcome LAL. One question. What made you decide on becoming an agent? Just a question........

You can do it both, but I understand you are asking where to start.

First and foremost is follow your heart and not the money when you decide.

P&C.....must have for (legal) people
L&H....NOPE!

Health? Do you watch the news? Follow the forums....A lot at stake and a lot of agents planning their exits.....'lotta risk there.

No one can really tell you which way to go, I'm just saying the money will change as the industry and laws change....How much of your income are you willing to gamble on the government with?

Good luck

KethRi2- I am currently living in a few miles from New Orleans.

cook920- There are several reasons why I choose to become an agent. Briefly, it is closely related to my work experience (mostly PT during school). Some of my strongest skills are written/verbal communication, research, and analysis, developed from coursework in Sociology. Also, providing information for people and helping solve problems is what I enjoy. Lastly, insurance agent has shown up in results of myers-briggs & MAPP personality tests multiple times.