Branding yourself through association

Survivor

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I am wondering if any of you are members of any insurance associations. Have you found that being a member of an association helped your "brand" by lending you more credibility. As a newer agent, I feel it is important for customers to perceive me as a professional capable of handling their needs.

What associations are good for professional development AND telling customers that you are the "real deal."

I used to wonder about this myself. Then it dawned upon me, the average consumer has no idea what the associations mean, stand for, whatever, and probably don't care. Of course, it depends what your writing, if you target high value households, they may. Most don't.

Of course, designations (I know you asked associations) such as CFP are known, and probably are meaningful. ChFC, which is basically the same designation, is less known, and people will scratch their head. Of course, alphabet soup after your name doesn't hurt.

Associations are to help you. Designations are to help the consumer, but only if they know what the designation means, and it has value. Everyone seems to sell a designation now, so make sure the designation means something.

Dan

Associations are to help you. Designations are to help the consumer, but only if they know what the designation means, and it has value. Everyone seems to sell a designation now, so make sure the designation means something.

Dan

The designation you need is mine! For on $499 plus a $40 dollar monthly fee you'll be license to use the all encompassing designation of,

OHOANF

Known to all in the know, don't leave home without it!

Ps of course there is the yearly training, free of charge. You'll need 6 hours of CE, paid for you by us!

A great example of why designations can be meaningless :) It's funny though, I see this type of thing all the time. There must be money to be made in selling designations!

Dan