Breaking Into The Biz

I'd like to start off by saying that this forum has been quite helpful to me prior to my even posting an introduction, and would like to thank those that continually post honest and informative content on this forum.

I am a career chef, that has recently made the decision to leave the foodservice industry. I have a young family, and foodservice has not allowed me to spend the kind of time them that they deserve. Don't get me wrong, I'm very willing to work hard, even "long hours", but I'm coming off an Executive Chef position in which I worked 85-115 hours/week, nights, holidays, and weekends in particular. After several months of research and discussions with my wife, I left my $80K/year position to pursue insurance sales.

I took a full-time job selling cable services, which I start Monday. Tomorrow, I take my life insurance exam, for which I am well prepared. I've also started marketing my own HVAC services in my community, and have generated a nice supplemental income. So, I'm in a pretty decent place to begin my journey into the world of being an insurance producer, without risking my families need for food/shelter/water/etc.

I still, however, am undecided on where to start. I have had a few conversations with MLM's, and have no interest in that concept. I have considered working as a captive agent to learn some technique, though this would require me to drop my sales position, and disable me to begin selling part-time on my own. So, I'm really leaning towards getting an IMO, and beginning independent sales on a part time basis. I'm sitting on a relatively low budget, though I am employed, so I do have capital to purchase leads/market my services/ etc.