Breaking into the IA

Bojmir

I am a producer with a captive agency (Allstate). Our book is just under 8 mil and I sell between 15k-20k a month of P&C. I have an opportunity to piggy back off a friends IA. My question is what carriers could I get immediate apointments with on my side of the "piggy back" and what carriers will I need to build up my book in order to draw in?

If you need more info on the arraingment please ask. I'm very curious if others on here have started in a similiar fashion and how they did it.

Thanks!

You need to post what state you are in first, and whether you do PL or CL. With Allstate I assume you are mainly PL.

Honestly you might just want to see if you can work independent or captive with Erie. I hear that they are awesome in PA (they had better be, they are from Erie, PA!) and it might be a good place to look. If you can do it independently, even better. They would probably be your go-to company. Safeco might be another good one to have as well.

I appreciate the input NCP. I am exploring other options as well but I was hoping for more specific replies on this particular situation. Hopefully from people that may have started a scratch IA as piggy backing off an established agency. If there is anybody out there like that I would greatly appreciate any input on this. Not only my initial question but any other pro's or cons on doing it this way.

I am in SC and studying up to take the P&C test shortly. I want to start out as an independent on my own. I know people are gonna talk junk but I have no problem working at a second job to support myself and already have a office at home to start out.

My question is, which company would most likely appointment. (not much savings and not the greatest credit rating due to medical issues)?

I appreciate any comments ... good or bad :)