Can a Group Form Their Own Group for the Sake of Health Ins?

dbrown

I'm new to health insurance and was asked by someone a question I cannot answer and was wondering if someone here would know...
The situation is:

Her husband works for a big employer - formed like a union. They're currently paying A LOT for insurance. Just over $6.00 hourly is being given to subsidize this insurance per employee by the employer. The employer is proposing that if you don't want their insurance, that $6/hr can go into a 401k. Or pay another $100+ weekly for the health insurance.

The question is: Can a group of these employees form their own group and purchase like a group?

Hoping you can help....

They cannot come together for the sole purpose of purchasing a group policy. Group can only be sponsored by a bonafide employer.

Group can only be sponsored by a bonafide employer.

Not completely true. Associations that collect dues are able to form groups in most states. But the association cant exist just to provide insurance to its members, it must have a true purpose.

I'm new to health insurance and was asked by someone a question I cannot answer and was wondering if someone here would know...
The situation is:

Her husband works for a big employer - formed like a union. They're currently paying A LOT for insurance. Just over $6.00 hourly is being given to subsidize this insurance per employee by the employer. The employer is proposing that if you don't want their insurance, that $6/hr can go into a 401k. Or pay another $100+ weekly for the health insurance.

The question is: Can a group of these employees form their own group and purchase like a group?

Hoping you can help....

Something doesn't sound right about the math. That means the employer is contributing $12,480 annually for the employees' health insurance. (You said, "just over $6.00 hourly is being given to subsidize this insurance per employee by the employer")