Can "Appointment Setters" Get Paid Commission?

Beans

Hey all! I'm brand new to insurance and brand new to this forum. I have a simple question.

I live in California.

I have a friend that wants to do cold calls for me. I think it's a great idea to generate leads.

I would want her to do the following:
1 - Cold call
2 - explain our products / health insurance / retirement plans etc. to the customer.
3 - If the customer is interested, she would basically take the health insurance application...name, number, health, smoker, non, etc...
4 - She would then inform the customer that I will follow up with them. She would pass the "warm lead" on to me, and I would call.

I would sell the deal from that point forward. I would go to their house, sell the deals and get paid. She has no further interaction with the customer outside of seeing if they'd be interested, and passing it on to me.

I want to give her a percentage of whatever pay I get from that customer that she took from a "cold call" to a "warm call". Is this legal? If not, what is a legal way of paying someone to do cold calls so I can generate business?

Thanks for the help!

Per lead or appointment you're safe, contingent on the sale and you have a problem.

Per lead or appointment you're safe, contingent on the sale and you have a problem.

Ok, so just to make sure this is accurate -
If she calls 5 people, and 1 is interested, I have to pay her a flat fee for that lead. What if the lead doesn't produce? You're saying i've just lost the cost of that lead.

why can I not say - "if the sale goes through, I give you 20% of the deal, otherwise nothing"?

Also, I am not only doing health insurance...it would be additional policies and retirement planning. Are they all the same? I can only base it off the actual lead that's given me? So she can NEVER have a percentage of the deal...it's only a flat rate for each lead she gives me?