Can I Be Registered with a Broker Dealer and Still Work with IMO?

BrownEyes333

Hi, I'm completely new to the business and could use some guidance.

If I register with a broker dealer, can I still put insurance business through an IMO?

In general, regardless of being with a BD or not, how many IMO's can I sign up with?

Also, should I ask for the commission matrix before I agree to be appointed with a carrier?

Thanks everyone!

Hi, I'm completely new to the business and could use some guidance.

If I register with a broker dealer, can I still put insurance business through an IMO?

In general, regardless of being with a BD or not, how many IMO's can I sign up with?

Also, should I ask for the commission matrix before I agree to be appointed with a carrier?

Thanks everyone!

It depends on the b/d. Some allow you to be licensed with any IMO you want, some have a restricted list (of external providers), and some keep it in house.

You can sign up with as many as you want in most cases (not taking the b/d aspect into account).

You should probably know what you're going to get paid from your carriers so it is a good idea to have a comp schedule.

I believe the answer to all the questions is Yes. And you can get multiple IMO's. In business, it's usually a good idea to get contracts in writing, unless maybe you have a long working relationship with whoever you are contracting through.

What kind of insurance are you interested in selling?

Thanks for your replies Tahoe Rae and GoPokes.

I intend to focus on term life, universal life, fixed annuities, fixed indexed annuities, and Medicare suppl.

Right now, I'm considering selling American Equity products through an IMO but I haven't received their commission grid yet.

I'm starting out brand new and completely independent. Not sure if this is the best path, but I also don't know if working for NYL, MassMutual, or any of the other insurance houses would be better.

Any advice on this topic would be great as well.