Can I Be Registered with a Broker Dealer and Still Work with IMO?

Aug 17, 2016

1. BrownEyes333

BrownEyes333 New Member

Hi, I'm completely new to the business and could use some guidance.

If I register with a broker dealer, can I still put insurance business through an IMO?

In general, regardless of being with a BD or not, how many IMO's can I sign up with?

Also, should I ask for the commission matrix before I agree to be appointed with a carrier?

Thanks everyone!

2. Tahoe Ray

Tahoe Ray Guru

State:
    Nevada
    It depends on the b/d. Some allow you to be licensed with any IMO you want, some have a restricted list (of external providers), and some keep it in house.

You can sign up with as many as you want in most cases (not taking the b/d aspect into account).

You should probably know what you're going to get paid from your carriers so it is a good idea to have a comp schedule.

3. GoPokes

GoPokes Guru

State:
    Oklahoma
    I believe the answer to all the questions is Yes. And you can get multiple IMO's. In business, it's usually a good idea to get contracts in writing, unless maybe you have a long working relationship with whoever you are contracting through.

What kind of insurance are you interested in selling?

GoPokes, Aug 17, 2016
  4. BrownEyes333

BrownEyes333 New Member

Thanks for your replies Tahoe Rae and GoPokes.

I intend to focus on term life, universal life, fixed annuities, fixed indexed annuities, and Medicare suppl.

Right now, I'm considering selling American Equity products through an IMO but I haven't received their commission grid yet.

I'm starting out brand new and completely independent. Not sure if this is the best path, but I also don't know if working for NYL, MassMutual, or any of the other insurance houses would be better.

Any advice on this topic would be great as well.

Last edited: Aug 17, 2016
  5. GoPokes

GoPokes Guru

State:
    Oklahoma