Can I use my life insurance license for two carriers in New York?

• Thread starter Deleted member 87445
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 87445

So currently i'm a statefarm agent. I am thinking to join New York Life insurance Company and sell their life products too during the weekends.

My life license is already registered with Statefarm. Can I register with New York Life also ?

Thanks.

Regulations will let you - yes.

Both are either captive or employment... which means that you will have an employer conflict of interest with EITHER of them.

So the practical answer you're really looking for... is no.

I'm addition to what DHK said about items in your agent agreement with SF, I am sure it would make no financial sense for you to do this as SF tends to have bonus incentives to your PC compensation grid if you sell the SF life products.

Seems like a lose-lose proposition

I'm addition to what DHK said about items in your agent agreement with SF, I am sure it would make no financial sense for you to do this as SF tends to have bonus incentives to your PC compensation grid if you sell the SF life products.

Seems like a lose-lose proposition
Yeah, I have never understood why a career agent with one company would want to place the same business their career company offers "on the side" with another. If you are going to sell life insurance on the weekends , why not sell your career company on the weekends and increase your bonuses and perks with them. It is certainly not right to depend upon them for salary, draw, training, etc and then give another company the gravy.. If you want to broker, cut the ties and then sell whoever you want.