Can someone advise me on a life insurance need?

I am a novice with regards to life insurance, I’m usually doing health products. But I have a friend who is a 62 year old male in good health. He’s not overweight at all, good height/weight proportion., non tobacco. He has a mortgage, a family with 3 school age children. He says he wants $500,000 life policy. I’m licensed with Protective Life right now. But I can license with other companies if they have a product that befits his situation. What should I recommend? What product fits here? 20 year term? I would think whole life would be too costly? I would appreciate suggestions and I can provide more info if needed.

Ask him what he is looking to protect in the case he does die. 3 school age kids, is he looking to pay for education? He will need much more than 500K. Does his wife work? who will pay mortgage if he dies? Is he looking to cover costs until the mortgage is paid off and the kids are no longer in school? 20 year Term for 500K would cost just a bit less than 1M term for 20 years. why not make sure all debts are covered?

I have clients with 10 and 20YLT call me every month where their guarante premium period is about to expire and they still need the coverage. Very few have less of a need as they age.

very few folk that I run into maintain significant term insurance after the kids are gone and the house is paid for....especially once they quit working past age 65. That of course does not include folk who can not afford to be buried, or high net worth folk with inheritence tax issues to address with permanent insurance. They might be better off spending their money on Long Term care in many cases...so the wife doesn't spend all the kids inheritence in the nursing home some day....wishing her husband had died when his life insurance was still in force.