Can't Shake this Feeling...

TweetyBird86

Hello,
I have been an agent for about 4 years now. Been with the agency for 5 years now. I can't Shake the feeling I'm being used by the agency owner. It's irritating my soul I sometimes wanna cry. As a CSR of the agency I get paid 15hr. When I submit policies I get $20 per Auto policy, $40 per Homeowners and for Auto and Home combos I get $50. In another system that we use for quoting broker business I only get 10% per policy submitted. Please keep in mind I am the only one in the agency that uses this system. Should I get over myself or is this something I should definitely get myself out off cause to me it don't seem right. I feel quite pimped out.

Honestly sounds like a pretty good gig to me. As an agency owner there is a lot of expense that isn't seen by the CSR's. That being said I'm not sure what your duties as a CSR consist of at your agency. My CSRs take care of the day to day servicing, take calls, gatekeep for the principals and passes the new business to one of the agents. If the agents are busy or out they must quote and write the policy. They don't get commission for this but its rare that there isn't an available Agent.

If you don't feel that you are being treated fair for what you do ask the owner to put you on as producer. You will lose your hourly wages or have them docked significantly but possibly get a better cut. But by the sounds of your cut you are already getting there isn't much left over for the agent unless you are writing nice large packages.

Hello,
I can't Shake the feeling I'm being used by the agency owner. t.

You are being used. You're being paid an above average wage, but the owner is using you to make money. Average income for an individual in this country is $27k/year and if you're working fulltime at $15/hour+commissions you're doing well above that.